Canada United States Plans Provinces Blog About

George Manuel

Indigenous Leaders

Stamp Info

Name Value
Date of Issue June 21, 2023
Year 2023
Quantity 660,000
Current monetary value: $0.92.
Series Indigenous Leaders
Series Time Span 2022 - 2023
Postal Administration Canada

Buy on ebay

Sorry, our call to ebay returned no results. Click on the button below to search ebay directly.
More Results
PSG earns commission on these links.

Stamp Supplies on Amazon


Booklet of 6 Stamps

Quantity Produced - 100,000
Original Purchase Price: $5.52
Perforation: Simulated perforation
Dimension: 32 mm x 40 mm
Printer: Lowe-Martin
Printing Process: Lithography in 5 colours
Gum Type: Pressure sensitive
Tagging: General tagging, four sides
Paper: Tullis Russell
Add to List

Souvenir Sheet of 3 Stamps

Quantity Produced - 60,000
Original Purchase Price: $2.76
Perforation: 13+
Dimension: 128 mm x 92 mm
Printer: Lowe-Martin
Printing Process: Lithography in 4 colours
Gum Type: PVA
Tagging: General tagging, four sides
Paper: Tullis Russell
Add to List

Official First Day Cover

Quantity Produced - 6,000
Original Purchase Price: $1.92
Cancellation Location: Chase, BC
Dimension: 190 mm x 112 mm
Add to List

About Stamp

A member of the Neskonlith Indian Band of the Secwepemc Nation in British Columbia, George Manuel, o.c. (1921-89), was a skilled political strategist and author whom many credit with inspiring the modern Indigenous movement in Canada. He headed several national and international Indigenous organizations, and his Constitution Express – which brought supporters from the west to Ottawa, New York and Europe in the early 1980s – contributed to the recognition and affirmation of existing Indigenous and treaty rights in the Constitution Act, 1982. The stamp features Secwepemc artist Tania Willard’s bold reinterpretation of a photograph of Manuel, taken circa 1973, that reflects Indigenous quillwork and blanket designs.

About Stamp Series

Proud advocates for the rights and well-being of their people, the three modern-day Indigenous leaders in this inaugural series are honoured for dedicating their lives to preserving Métis, First Nations and Inuit culture and improving the quality of life of Indigenous Peoples in Canada.

The second set of stamps in the Indigenous Leaders series honours three Métis, First Nations and Inuit leaders whose tireless efforts to protect the rights, culture and welfare of their people had a profound influence on Canada’s history.


Design: Andrew Perro; Lime Design Stamps: Nellie Cournoyea – Peggy Jay. George Manuel – Peter Hofle; illustration: Tania Willard. Thelma Chalifoux – Northern Alberta Institute of Technology; artwork: Christi Belcourt, The Celebration (detail).

Similar Stamps


Canada Post Details Magazine - Volume XXXII No.4

Improve Stamp Information

Did you notice an error in this stamp's information?
Do you have any interesting information about this stamp that you would like to share?
Please click here to send us an email with the details.